05
Mar
08

In my spare time.

**WE ARE LIVE**  It took a couple of days, but now we are officially LIVE in Google Earth!  Check it out by downloading Google Earth 4 and fly to “1 University Dr, Springfield, IL” and we will be there!  Make sure you enable 3D Buildings as well in the lower left hand “Layers” box.

UHB

**My Jing account only has 1GB of bandwidth that apparently I reached after 5 views yesterday…I’m going to work on fixing that today, but if you cannot view the video, my apologies.**

I’ve had something lately that I haven’t really had for a while: spare time. I’ve decided that I wanted to put some of that time to good use. I stumbled across a video on YouTube about the University of Colorado in Boulder, CO.

So I thought, why not do that for my campus?! I really enjoyed my 3D design class, so I told myself, “Self, you’re gonna do this!” I went to Google Earth to figure out what to do. They have a program called Google Sketchup which I downloaded, and after a couple days of testing and trying to figure it out, I was able to construct something that I thought looked pretty good. Watch the video below that I made using a service called Jing, something I had forgotten I was able to get. @Joe, Jing allows me to do screen captures for free! *Shakes head…

For now, I cannot embed my screencast video. Click here to view the screencast of my Google Earth Video.

I plan to be able to complete all the buildings within a month or two (it took me about 4 days to do UHB). It may not be a very widely used service, but I think some students will enjoy going in and playing around with it. Plus, it gives our online population the ability to see our campus without having to actually travel here. 2D photos can only do so much. So go download Google Earth and type in our address “1 University Plaza, Springfield, IL” and play around with it. Let me know what you think!

5 Responses to “In my spare time.”


  1. March 5, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    That’s pretty cool. Especially for Springfield, town is always on the trailing end of the internet spectrum. Is this something you can submit to Google, or some that is just local to your machine?

  2. March 5, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    It’s live on Google Earth. *Actually, I just checked it and it wasn’t showing up. I’ll figure that out in the morning. I would eventually like to do some of the downtown buildings like the new and old state capital. The new capital will definitely be a challenge though. I’d be up for partners on this project though if someone would like to help. It would be great to put Springfield on the map (in more ways than one…haha). The program is very easy to use actually and plenty of howto’s on YouTube. Here’s a nice site for it: http://www.sketchupfordummies.com

  3. March 6, 2008 at 11:35 am

    That’s a pretty neat tool. I think incoming students will definitely appreciate being able to check that out, and online students will love it.

  4. 4 Joan
    March 14, 2008 at 8:17 am

    How cool that we are now live in Google Earth…nice job!

  5. March 14, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Actually, it’s live on my computer, but not officially on everyone else’s yet. It has to go through Google’s approval system first…should be up in a week or two though I believe. I’m uploading the PAC and LRH tonight. I hope to have Brookens, HSB, and TRAC done this weekend if I’m lucky. At the very least, I’d like to get two of them finished. Then onto to the temp buildings and the rest of housing.


Leave a Reply

Proud Member of Blog High Ed

Feed Me

My del.icio.us

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


Add to Technorati Favorites

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
This blog represents my views and my views alone. It is not reflective of any organization I am affiliated with.

