18
Feb
08

Housing Virtual Tours

So for the past two months, I have been working off and on on complete 360 degree virtual tours for housing. It’s been a slow process because I have been working on a lot of other projects, but also because it hasn’t been a huge priority. After meeting with our Web Services people, we discussed having them done in time for unveiling with the newly redesigned Housing website. I will be using the ones I created along with some/all of the ones Brad created when he was here.  So of late, I have been trying to get them all put together. I have been using a program called Cubic Converter which has been working great! I’ve been using Photoshop CS3’s photomerge feature along with some of my own editing. To shoot the panos, I have a Panosaurus head mounted to my tripod (which is weak and has caused me to have to do A LOT of post-processing). I am shooting with a Nikon D200 with an 18-70 mm f3.5 at 24mm and manual exposure controls. I will be writing a how-to later about this detailing the process in full. It’s been a lot of fun, but it’s also been a lot of work. The results have definitely paid off though! Now, I need to figure out how to convert from outdated QTVR to a Flash file for the website…if you have any suggestions let me know. Here’s a little sample:  *Wordpress does not allow embedding of videos into posts due to security reasons.  So for now, I’ll link to it.  It is in it’s full screen version here, but it is undecided how large the final will be.  Use your mouse to control the scrolling and shift and control zoom in and out.

Let me know of any changes you would make or do before the final cut.  I think they look pretty good, but then again, I may be biased…

5 Responses to “Housing Virtual Tours”


  1. February 18, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Go thing they didn’t clean their room or anything 🙂 Look really good though.

  2. February 18, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    It looks good. Nice clean picture and a realistic looking room, always important because kids will know if you fake it.

    I don’t mean to be critical, but isn’t panoramic tours so 20th century? You can now cheaply and easily shoot video of a room with a student interview and post that up. With this being the case now and not necessarily so five years ago, aren’t you trying to do something that’s obsolete here?

    Maybe there is better long term value in a panoramic picture, but it doesn’t take a whole lot of time to go shoot another video and interview a new student every other year either.

    Sorry, I know I just jumped on your hate list.

  3. February 18, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    @Matt Yeah, I kinda just surprised them and told them to leave it that way. And the girl at the desk was doing her homework and I told her just to ignore me.

    @kyle Thanks for the compliments. And actually, phase two will include video, however, the panos are very small in size (~1 MB) so they can easily be downloaded and offer a bit more interactivity. I have a full set of video tours lined up in the next couple of weeks though using different rooms with different people. Thanks for tip though! I appreciate the insight!

  4. February 18, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    That is very good to hear. In fact that sounds damn good. I think bringing the two together in a collaborative effort would be more effective than either by themselves. Very cool, I’ll be interested to see the final product.

  5. February 19, 2008 at 10:47 am

    In phase three, I hope to be able to do that…I want to have a green screen video shot so that I can incorporate it all together. Whether or not I can do that, however, is another story. Phase two will be combining stop motion video and normal video and those will start this spring after I finish up on a couple other things.


Leave a Reply

Proud Member of Blog High Ed

Feed Me

My del.icio.us

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Categories


Add to Technorati Favorites

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
This blog represents my views and my views alone. It is not reflective of any organization I am affiliated with.

