12
Dec
07

Shooting from the hip

So I have decided to blog about a photography technique that I enjoy shooting for the simple fact that you get some interesting photos. My lack of creativity kind of made me decide to shoot from a different perspective. Plus, I read an interesting article about it. But I didn’t necessarily agree with everything the author said, so I’m not going to link. It’s called shooting from the hip. Some people do it from the stomach, but I usually hold my camera at my side. It’s really easy to do, you just aim in the general direction, have your focus preset to something you feel is good, use a wider mm, and then shoot. You can use auto focus, but unless your lens is fast focusing, manual, preset focus is better. That’s all there is to it pretty much, but the results can range from beautiful to hilarious.

Kitty Cat

Not a great shot, but interesting

He’s so cute. I love his missing tooth. I might clean up the shadow on his face a bit, but the shot is great!
A little out of focus, but I love this shot!


Sure you might have to do some post-processing, but you can really get some excellent shots. I have plenty others like these, many that are better, but I wanted to post some that were more recent. Let me know what you think of this!

1 Response to “Shooting from the hip”


  1. 1 Bradjward
    December 13, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Nice post/topic. You know I love me some hip shooting. I should start tagging my hip shot photos on Flickr so I can find them more easily.


Leave a Reply

Proud Member of Blog High Ed

Feed Me

My del.icio.us

Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


Add to Technorati Favorites

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
This blog represents my views and my views alone. It is not reflective of any organization I am affiliated with.

