06
Nov
07

Final update

Alright…so after contemplating what I was going to do about my problem all weekend, I found out yesterday afternoon that it was merely a mistake. Someone wrote down the wrong mileage, and the dealership has the paperwork to prove it. They sent a request to the state to have this corrected so my car comes up with a clean record. Awesome! All fine and dandy…however…I drove some cars this weekend in anticipation for the worst, and I’m sorry to say that I did. I drove the Pontiac Solstice and the Solstice GXP, the supercharged version. I was sadly unimpressed with both. The GXP was pretty quick though, I’ll give it that. It had a much smoother ride than did the other model.

I also drove a Mazda Miata sport (not a Mazdaspeed) and though it was alright, although it was a little underpowered. That car cornered like no other though. Then I drove a new Mazda MX-5 and I must tell you, if you’re looking for a fun car, this is it! I absolutely fell in love with this car! I have never had as much fun driving a vehicle as I did with the MX-5. I drove a six-speed and it was smooth and quick. The pedal push was a bit long, but otherwise they did their homework. It was extremely comfortable for being the type of car that it is. I drove all over the place and took about 40 minutes. I thoroughly enjoyed every second of it!

And that’s where the problems come in…I loved it soo much, I really want it! And with nothing wrong with my car, I still own it. I have a week to think about it, but it is not going to be an easy decision. Keep the car I love with cheaper payments and somewhat of a back seat, or trade it in for a car designed purely for driving and is otherwise highly impractical. On the other hand, my car gets under 20 mpg, and is fairly impractical itself verses a car that I LOVED driving and gets between 25 and 30 mpg.

2 Responses to “Final update”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    November 15, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Cool to hear that you fell for a car! Sooo… what to do? You’d get a brand new car with a full warranty, which is good. Better gas mileage means the difference in price *could* pay itself off over time. The only thing is that it’s only a two-seater, which means if you’re planning on having kids anytime in the near future, this would definitely NOT be the car to get. Other than that, if you can afford to get the new car, I’d say go for it! It seems like it would serve the purposes you would *need* it for… to get back and forth from work. It has a trunk which would fit your gear (hopefully), and there’s a passenger seat for your girl.

    My wife and I really want to get a Prius, but we have absolutely *no* money… but as soon as we can get some cash flow, I wouldn’t mind getting a car that has better gas mileage.

    You GOTTA keep us posted with whatever happens! 🙂 Good luck, bro!

  2. 2 Jeremy Wilburn
    November 16, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Well officially, I don’t want a brand new car because simply put, that’s stupid. It looses so much money the minute you drive it off the lot. I was looking for a used version of those cars though which is substantially cheaper and not much more than I’m paying now. The whole kids situation can be handled by the wife’s car, it has rear seats. Thanks for the good information! I’m sure I’ll post once I figure out what I’m gonna do.


Leave a Reply

Proud Member of Blog High Ed

Feed Me

My del.icio.us

Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


Add to Technorati Favorites

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
This blog represents my views and my views alone. It is not reflective of any organization I am affiliated with.

