27
Jan
09

State Farm Donates to UIS Computer Science Program

Sometimes as photographers we get put into situations in which we have to deal with tricky lighting situations.  Unfortunately for me, tricky lighting situations occur in every building on my campus.  It’s a good thing though because it pushes me to play with my white balance and other camera settings to try to get the photo to look right.  It’s important to get to an event early enough to be able to take some test shots and refer to your histogram.  Knowing how to read a histogram can save you a lot of time in post processing.

Histogram

Histogram

photo courtesy http://www.digitalreview.ca/cams/NikonD200_intro.shtml

For these shots I use a combination (exact data can be found on my flickr page for all the photos) of an 18-50 f2.8 with a flash usually set at f5.6 and ISO 400 and a 70-200 f2.8 without a flash set at f2.8 and ISO 1600.  I think f5.6 to f11 is a good range for shooting events like this with a flash.  f2.8 is a must especially when it was as dark in that room as it was.  I wish my D70s had less high ISO noise, but you’ve got to work with what you’ve got.  Here are some photos, let me know what you think.

4 Responses to “State Farm Donates to UIS Computer Science Program”


  1. 1 OT
    January 27, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    I like best the candids that don’t have any flash (I guess that means I like the 70-200 shots). I would not mix them (this is really getting fussy) in a set — either go all flash or all natural. The group shot is really solid as far as the lighting. Bounced off the ceiling ? Nice work.

  2. January 29, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Thanks OT for your comments. Sorry I didn’t get to them sooner. I typically don’t like shooting with a flash, but sometimes it is necessary like it was in that room. I am curious though why you say not to mix them. I understand that there are two different looking shots in the set, but the flash photos are limited only to the closeups to capture details. I’m just curious to hear your thoughts. And the group shot was a bounce from a single on camera flash. It works better than using just one medium umbrella I’ve found.

  3. March 1, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour


Leave a Reply

Proud Member of Blog High Ed

Feed Me

My del.icio.us

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories


Add to Technorati Favorites

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
This blog represents my views and my views alone. It is not reflective of any organization I am affiliated with.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

